Directed by: Eric Toledano, Olivier Nakache
Cast: François Cluzet, Omar Sy, Anne Le Ny
Synopsis: The French comedy was the most successful film in France and Germany in 2011. It sold over 9 million tickets at the box office in Germany alone.


Directed by: Nicolas Winding Refn
Cast: Ryan Gosling, Carey Mulligan, Bryan Cranston
Synopsis: This adaption of a noir mystery by cult author James Sallis was the Hollywood debut for Danish enfant terrible Nicolas Winding Refn ("Bronson", "Valhalla Rising"). His action thriller with all-star cast won Best Director in Cannes 2011.

Olympus Has Fallen

Directed by: Antoine Fuqua
Cast: Gerard Butler, Aaron Eckhart, Finley Jacobsen
A cliffhanging action thriller, which earned $100 million in its first month in release at the box office.

Save Haven

Directed by: Lasse Hallström
Cast: Josh Duhamel, Julianne Hough, Cobie Smulders
Bestseller adaption based on the novel by Nicholas Sparks, in which a young woman fleeing from her past finds love and peace with a widower. 450 000 tickets sold in Germany in the first month.

Men who stare at goats

Directed by: Grant Heslov
Cast: George Clooney, Ewan McGregor, Jeff Bridges
One of the zaniest military tales ever. Based on the novel by Jon Ronson, Grant Heslov's second feature relates the bizarre story of the army's parapsychology unit, bounding from one comedic highlight to the next. George Clooney is in top form as a real-life Jedi with looks that can kill, together with Jeff Bridges, Ewan McGregor and Kevin Spacey.

Mr. Nice

Directed by: Bernard Rose
Cast: Rys Ifans, Chloë Sevigny, David Thewlis
Bernard Rose's jovial, comedic accout of a British drug smuggler's adventures is a true-life fairy tale.

Transporter 3

Directed by: Olivier Megaton
Cast: Jason Statham, Robert Knepper, François Berléand
Today's hottest action hero Jason Statham's third exploit as the express courier with three simple rules. Reuniting original writers Luc Besson and Robert Mark Kamen, who now team with upcoming director Olivier Megaton. "Transporter 3" debuted at No. 1 on the German box office charts and sold an average of 1000 tickets per screen on its opening weekend, earning the first Box Office Germany Award of the year 2009.

Side Effects

Regie: Steven Soderbergh
Darsteller: Jude Law, Rooney Mara, Catherine Zeta-Jones
Steven Soderbergh's last film deals with the misuse of psychoactive drugs. Directing an all-star cast, he delivers a provocative psycho-thriller with satiric undertones, staged with a sure hand and a keen eye for intense, intimate emotions. 

The Mexican

Directed by: Gore Verbinski
Cast: Brad Pitt, Julia Roberts, James Gandolfini
In this oddball mix of romantic comedy, road movie and action thriller, star director Gore Verbinski unites Julia Roberts and Brad Pitt onscreen for the first time 2001, struggling to get together for almost the whole length of the film.


Directed by: Christopher Nolan
Cast: Guy Pearce, Carrie-Anne Moss, Joe Pantoliano
Christopher Nolan's breakout film, told backwards from the end to the begining, won in Sundance and other prizes. The top-notch camera work and editing reinforce the irresistible suspense of the plot, while you can't take your eyes off Guy Pearce's acting. The thinking man's mystery.

The Attack

Directed by: Ziad Doueiri
Cast: Ali Suliman, Evgenia Dodena, Reymond Amsalem
Based on the novel by Yasmina Khadra. The suspenseful story of a man in Israel who discovers his wife may have been a suicide bomber. Winner of the Golden Star Award at Marrakech Film Festival 2012.


Directed by: Paul Haggis
Cast: Sandra Bullock, Don Cheadle, Matt Dillon
Paul Haggis' directing debut won three Oscars 2005: Best Film, Best Editing and Best Original Screenplay. The ensemble film describes the sometimes violent collision of people from various social and ethnic backgrounds in L.A., with a high-powered all-star cast.

The Master

Directed by: Paul Thomas Anderson
Cast: Joaquin Phoenix, Philip Seymour Hoffmann, Amy Adams
Drama about a Navy veteran at loose ends who finds refuge with a charismatic speaker and thinker, whom his followers call The Master. Earned over $16 million at the U.S. box office. Directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, director of "Magnolia" and "There Will Be Blood".


Directed by: Curtis Hanson, Michael Apted
Cast: Gerard Butler, Jonny Weston, Elisabeth Shue
Surfer family drama based on the true story of a 16-year-old who becomes a Big Wave legend, surfing the towering swells of Northern California. A biopic of surf star Jay Moriarty with enthralling landscapes and pulse-quickening surf action. 

The Sapphires

Directed by: Wayne Blair
Cast: Deborah Mailman, Miranda Tapsell, Jessica Maubo
Toe-tapping festival hit based on the true story of four Aborigine women who bring soul music to GIs in Vietnam. Based on a play by Tony Briggs, premiered at Cannes 2012.

Comme Un Chef

Directed by: Daniel Cohen
Cast: Jean Reno, Michaël Youn, Raphaëlle Agogué
In this classic French comedy, Jean Reno gets to show off his comedic talent as a famous Chef de Cuisine who gets in a feud with hit comedian Michaël Youn as a young upstart cook out to make his mark.

Ziemlich beste Freunde

Regie: Eric Toledano, Olivier Nakache
Darsteller: François Cluzet, Omar Sy, Anne Le Ny
Die französische Produktion erreichte allein in Frankreich über 19,2 Millionen Kinobesucher und wurde damit zur erfolgreichsten Komödie in 2011. Und auch in Deutschland schreibt der Film Erfolgsgeschichte. Seit Januar 2012 lockte er über 9 Millionen Menschen ins Kino.

Drive

Regie: Nicolas Winding Refn
Darsteller: Ryan Gosling, Carey Mulligan, Bryan Cranston
Mit der Verfilmung eines Noir-angehauchten Krimis von Kultautor James Sallis gibt das dänische Wunderkind Nicolas Winding Refn ("Bronson", "Walhalla Rising") sein amerikanisches Debüt. Neben der hochkarätigen Besetzung machte der Film 2011 mit der Goldenen Palme in der Kategorie "Beste Regie" in Cannes von sich reden.

Olympus Has Fallen

Regie: Antoine Fuqua
Darsteller: Gerard Butler, Aaron Eckhart, Finley Jacobsen
Ein spannend-kurzweilig inszenierter Actionthriller, der in den USA bereits nach einem Monat knapp 100 Mio $ eingespielt hat.

Safe Haven

Regie: Lasse Hallström
Darsteller: Josh Duhamel, Julianne Hough, Cobie Smulders
Bestsellerverfilmung nach Nicholas Sparks, in der eine junge Frau auf der Flucht vor ihrer Vergangenheit bei einem verwitweten Familienvater Liebe und Frieden findet. In Deutschland lockte die Adaption bereits nach einem Monat knapp 450.000 Zuschauer ins Kino.

Men who stare at goats

Regie: Grant Heslov
Darsteller: George Clooney, Ewan McGregor, Jeff Bridges
Eine der lustigsten Militärgrotesken. Basierend auf Jon Ronsons Tatsachenroman, erzählt Grant Heslovs zweiter Spielfilm von einem der bizarrsten Auswüchse der jüngeren Militärgeschichte und landet damit Gagvolltreffer. George Clooney, begleitet von Jeff Bridges, Ewan McGregor und Kevin Spacey, präsentiert sich in Höchstform als Jedi-Ritter mit dem tödlichen Blick.

Mr. Nice

Regie: Bernard Rose
Darsteller: Rys Ifans, Chloë Sevigny, David Thewlis
Bernard Roses heiter-entspannte Nacherzählung des abenteuerlichen Lebens eines britischen Drogenschmugglers ist so märchenhaft wie wahr.

Transporter 3

Regie: Olivier Megaton
Darsteller: Jason Statham, Robert Knepper, François Berléand
Zum mittlerweile dritten Mal schlüpfte der Actionheld der Stunde, Jason Statham, in die Rolle des ganz speziellen Kurierfahrers. Neben Statham war auch wieder das Autorenteam der ersten beiden Teile, Luc Besson und Robert Mark Kamen, mit von der Partie. Neu zum Franchise stieß Regisseur Olivier Megaton. Der erste Box Office Germany Award 2009 ging an Transporter 3, der sich nicht nur furios an die deutsche Kinochartspitze setzte, sondern auch einen Schnitt von mehr als 1000 Besuchern pro Kopie vorweisen konnte.

Side Effects

Regie: Steven Soderbergh
Darsteller: Jude Law, Rooney Mara, Catherine Zeta-Jones
Unterstützt von einer exzellenten Besetzung thematisiert der Film den Missbrauch von Psychopharmaka. Steven Soderbergh inszeniert seinen provokativen Psychothriller mit satirischen Untertönen mit gewohnt sicherer Hand und scharfem Blick für intime und intensive Emotionen. 

The Mexican

Regie: Gore Verbinski
Darsteller: Brad Pitt, Julia Roberts, James Gandolfini
In der höchst kuriosen Mischung aus Roadmovie-Romantikkomödie und Actionthriller erlaubt sich Regisseur Gore Verbinski 2001, erstmals das Traumpaar Julia Roberts und Brad Pitt vor der Kamera zu vereinen, das dann allerdings fast den gesamten Film über getrennt absurde Abenteuer erlebt.

Memento

Regie: Christopher Nolan
Darsteller: Guy Pearce, Carrie-Anne Moss, Joe Pantoliano
Der fesselnde, unter anderem in Sundance mit Preisen bedachte Thriller wird Szene für Szene rückwärts erzählt. Neben der vorzüglichen Kamera und dem ebenso guten Schnitt macht der Zwang zur Konzentration die Spannung des Films aus. Guy Pearce fasziniert mit seinem intensiven Spiel. Für Krimifreunde, die gerne mitdenken.

The Attack

Regie: Ziad Doueiri
Darsteller: Ali Suliman, Evgenia Dodena, Reymond Amsalem
Die Verfilmung des gleichnamigen Romans von Yasmina Khadra über eine Selbstmordattentäterin gewinnt den Golden Star Award beim Marrakech Film Festival 2012.

 

L.A. Crash

Regie: Paul Haggis
Darsteller: Sandra Bullock, Don Cheadle, Matt Dillon
Ensembledrama und Regiedebüt von Paul Haggis, das 2005 mit drei Oscars in den Kategorien "Bester Film", "Bester Schnitt" und "Bestes Originaldrehbuch" ausgezeichnet wurde. Das teils gewalttätige Aufeinanderprallen mehrerer Figuren von unterschiedlichem ethnischen und sozialen Background wird von einer exzellenten Besetzung porträtiert.

The Master

Regie: Paul Thomas Anderson
Darsteller: Joaquin Phoenix, Philip Seymour Hoffmann, Amy Adams
Das Drama um einen charismatischen Redner und Philosophen, der sich von seinen Anhängern "Master" nennen lässt, und der einen triebgesteuerten Navy-Veteran unter seine Fittiche nimmt, spielte in den USA über 16 Mio. US-Dollar an den Kinokassen ein. Vom Regisseur von "Magnolia" und "There Will Be Blood".

Mavericks

Regie: Curtis Hanson, Michael Apted
Darsteller: Gerard Butler, Jonny Weston, Elisabeth Shue
Auf einer wahren Geschichte basierendes Surfer- und Familiendrama über einen 16-Jährigen, der in den Wellentürmen Nordkaliforniens zur Big-Wave-Legende wurde. Ein Biopic über den Surfer Jay Moriarty mit eindrucksvollen Meeresaufnahmen und rasanten Surf-Szenen. 

The Sapphires

Regie: Wayne Blair
Darsteller: Deborah Mailman, Miranda Tapsell, Jessica Mauboy
Musikalisch mitreißender, von einer wahren Geschichte inspirierter Festivalhit über vier Aborigine-Frauen, die Ende der Sixties den Soul zu den GIs nach Vietnam bringen. Der auf einem Theaterstück von Tony Briggs basierende Film feierte seine Premiere auf dem Filmfestival in Cannes 2012.

Kochen ist Chefsache

Regie: Daniel Cohen
Darsteller: Jean Reno, Michaël Youn, Raphaëlle Agogué
In dieser französischen Komödie nach klassischer Rezeptur darf Jean Reno als autoritäre Figur, ein renommierter Chef de Cuisine, auch mal komisch sein und mit dem erfolgreichen Komiker Michaël Youn als aufbrausenden Könner am Kochtopf um das beste Rezept kämpfen.